Matts Blog
Sunday, 16. June 2002
Bronchitis, CD 315=Week One

Week one, what can I say it has been a doozy. First I had to go to the hospital to be treated for chronic bronchitis, which by the way is the most annoying upper respiratory virus one can have. I dont know if its the constant coughing or the lack of adequate breaths that makes me the most agitated. Of course, along with the 11 other classmates, I started the CD 315 class. I have always felt that I was pretty computer literate. I have worked with them since the days of apple computers and the most famous game ever, Oregon Trail. Yet, I have to admit that when I was introduced to the MOO and the types of assignments that we will be doing this summer on the internet, I was forced to step back and realize that I was not as up to snuff on my computer skills as I thought. Yet, the good thing is that this is my only class, so I will have plenty of time to learn all the new things that are within a keyboards reach on the internet.

I set out this week to maintain a tight schedule with our homework assignments and to get up at 8:00 a.m. every morning. I have managed to do one of the two, my homework. At our very first class meeting, we were told time and time again to stay on top of our assignments. Therefore, that has been my top priority this week, learning techniques for and doing the various assigments in a timely manner.

As class got underway, the first day we were introduced to the various library resources we have within our grasps to expand our knowledge and to use in our research project. On day two, things really began to pick up steam. We met online at the MOO to address issues of navigating on the MOO server and communicating with one another. Using this form of interaction online is something new for me. I have always used AOL Instant messenger. Now we have this continuous stream of messaging and various places to meet while interacting. It is just really neat that we have this technology. However, I know this class is not just about interacting on the MOO, it is mostly about a vast array of learning opportunities to expand our field and skills to the internet. It is about confidence. Confidence in the sense that we will probably never lay eyes on Mrs. McComas again until halfway through the course. I know I have gained a tremendous amount of confidence just in the past week in my abilities to post messages and communicate on the MOO. Emailing and checking assignments on the internet should be second nature to any student, especially those that have had Mrs. McComas in the past.

Then there is this Blog site. I have yet to figure out what its place is in our work, except to upload our journals to. Yet, I am sure in the weeks to follow that the Blog and I will become quite good friends. One problem that I find myself facing as I begin to post things to the internet and write emails is the monotony that is involved. I know that sounds weird, but it is so cut and dry. For instance, if I want to email the class a question, I just compose my thoughts in words and send it to some address.net or .com. I think what I am trying to say is that the scenery never changes. The same old black and white pages stare back at you as you begin to fall asleep at the keyboard.

One thing that I read on a classmates Blog was the idea of using the Blog for NSSLHA. I think that is a great idea. Let's face it. It is the 21st century and the internet is pretty conveient for everyone, so why not put it to good use for something that benefits others in our field. I know that with my father and I, we have a radio ministry here in Huntington and I design the station hosts a web page for our ministry. Its a great way to communicate with others interested in the same issues and ideas as you. So I guess I just answered my own question about the Blogs use. Wow, that was one of those learning experiences that Mrs. McComas talks about. That time and experience will never leave my memory now!

I only have one question about this online journal. Is it exactly what you want Mrs. McComas? I know you said to write about the content, process and premise and I usually try to make those sections pretty clear in my writing. Yet, here I have integrated those sections among one another. Please let me know if that format is acceptable.

I have to say that the work that you have put into this class and the types of things we will be learning are not only learning experiences but ways for us to use the latest technology to our greatest advantage. Just as you have read, I had one of those learning experiences while writing this Blog. Well, I guess I am just really looking forward to this class. I love working with computers and using the technology available to its fullest potential. In the end, the payoff is not how much I have done but what I retain for future use.

Home/
Next

Online for 7993 days
Last modified: 7/15/02, 6:19 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
August
Recent updates
Letter from a Senator To:
Mr. Matthew Campbell From: Senator J. Wolohan To whom it...
by boma80 (8/16/02, 4:52 AM)
References American Speech-Language and Hearing
Association Website http://www.asha.org ____________________________________________ Bell, Clark W. (2001). Getting Back...
by boma80 (8/16/02, 12:36 AM)
Matts Wonder-Blog Hello! and welcome
to Matts Weblog. I am pleased to announce that this...
by boma80 (8/16/02, 12:17 AM)
Its Over! Well another summer
term has come and gone and many students and sighing...
by boma80 (8/15/02, 7:05 PM)
Genre 3: Letter to
a Politician To: Senator J. Wolohan From: Matthew S. Campbell, SLP...
by boma80 (8/15/02, 6:08 PM)
Welcome to Matts Webliography Welcome
to Matts Webliography! Here you will find interesting stuff to...
by boma80 (8/15/02, 5:49 PM)
Project Prospectus Essential Question: How
do we make speech and language intervention available, or at...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:52 PM)
Bronchitis, CD 315=Week One Week
one, what can I say it has been a doozy....
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:51 PM)
One more to go Well
its week nine and it was so good to see...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:49 PM)
Reflection Content This assignment
was titled a Multigenre Research Project, or MRP. It was quite...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:43 PM)
Genre 6-Brochure Home/
Next
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:41 PM)
Genre 5 PowerPoint
Home/ Next
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:38 PM)
Genre 4: Acrostic Poem
Advocacy by Matthew Campbell Advocacy stands for the Determination of an...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:35 PM)
Letter to the Editor To:
Local Dispatch From: Venecia Kline I would like to start...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:31 PM)
About the Author My name
is Matthew Campbell. I am 22 yrs old and currently...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:27 PM)
Acknowledgments I would first of
all like to thank Mrs. McComas for putting for the...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:24 PM)
Preface This Multigenre Research Project,MRP,
was created in compliance with the requirements set forth for...
by boma80 (8/11/02, 6:21 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher